What You Have And Haven’t Heard In A Lot Of Songs


You have heard of grand sun rises
Bringing back the earth from its nightly death
And how they flooded the rivers and the plains
You have heard in a lot of songs.

You have heard of glorious battles
By heroes won or heroically lost
And how the flowing blood sluiced through the dirt
You have heard in a lot of songs.

You have heard of sweet afternoons
When two lovers walked by a setting sun
And how the grasses blushed a greener shade
You have heard in a lot of songs.

But tonight when the sleeping wolf
Woke up and went on its round, suddenly
I heard a thunder rumbling far away
I looked up and felt a rain drop
On my face. Then I brought my hand
And touched that pure thing and out of the blue
I heard a rare song where you wake me up
With your flooding love sluicing through the clogs
Of agonies locked away in my heart.
Then I walk again underneath
A silvery shining moon, with your hand
Delicately held in mine.

We stayed like that till I could hear the song no more…

3 thoughts on “What You Have And Haven’t Heard In A Lot Of Songs

      1. No need to hide one’s light under a bushel. You posess a strong aptitude for poetry and you command many of the appropriate tools. The rest is legend, as the saying goes … 🙂

        Greetings,
        Salva

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

