Another Ice Age


I have lived longer than Lord Tithonus
Waiting in the perennial rain
For another Ice Age to come.
I have forgotten the face of the sun
Along with its bright yellow warmth
For these days the sky remains forever
Beneath the shroud of dark gray clouds.
I remember the earth was green
Once upon a time and the oceans blue.
Now murky waters of the ocean rise
And drown the shores feet by feet.
When I have seen the glaciers melt
To paint the soaring icy peaks
With an unsightly shade of brown,
I witnessed the earth changing all around.
Far away an old forest from our greed
Becomes a white sea of sands
As progress chokes its feeble breath.
Then I saw burnt down palaces
And realized that we prosper in cycles.

Leave a Reply

