The Words on My Headstone


If they could see things through my eyes
they would know inevitable death
is waiting at the end of life.
All the luster and glories of the world
would become rather apparent
if they could look at things, like me.
If they had my blood running through their veins
they would know how decay began
as soon as they were born.
Their achievements and the past
would have become all meaningless
if they had lived their days, like me.
Alas! Now no one can see through my eyes
for I am blind.
Alas! Now blood no more runs through my veins
for I am dead.

2 thoughts on “The Words on My Headstone

Leave a Reply

