Plebs Sordida


I’m dirty and uncouth,
I am hungry and crude,
even Poverty is richer than me!
I was born on the street
and then brought up by it
into another No One of the world.
I cannot read or write
the words my mother spoke.
I am the sordid pleb of today’s world,
cleaning and carrying filth,
grazing on rubbish dumps
for grains and morsels of life, thrown away.
I’m harassed by the law
for no identity.
Though they can’t say where I might have found one!
Curse my fate or the government is all I can!

Leave a Reply

