Almost Petrified (A Poem on Broken Love)


No, Love, you cannot hurt me any more!
I have buried my heart and brain far below
the dead ground. Your words of indifference
can no more penetrate my skin, too dense
for ironies to sink, almost petrified.
No matter what, you can no longer make me cry!
Love, you cannot make me bleed any more!
I have drained all my veins too pale to flow
through the scars and wounds of so many years
with the stains of blood washed away in tears
and the pain has left me almost petrified.
No matter what, you can no longer bleed me dry!
No, Love, you can no more come in my dreams,
I have had too many nightmares already,
in my life! Your subtle ways and decadence
cannot reach the nerves through my bones,
hardened from years of grief, almost petrified.
No matter what, from haunting dreams I shall not die!

Leave a Reply

