The Final Words on Love


As the days have grown pensive, grey and old,
bleeding with a sun beyond the afternoon
with a great longing, I was overwhelmed;
to indulge once more in the warmth and glow
of the precious letters she wrote to me
back in those days, so many years ago,
when life was in the morning still and we were young
and with sparkles of Love both too absurdly drunk.

For ages I have kept them buried below
the stacks of paper in a hidden safe,
unperturbed by curious eyes or prying hands
and before stowing them away I had
read each of them a hundred times at least.
Still as I brought them out from that dark place
the joy was simply the same as I used to feel
when the maidenhood of each envelop was peeled,
back in those happy days, so many years ago,
when life was in the morning still and we were young
and with sparkles of Love both too absurdly drunk!
Memories, as I read those letters once again,
seem realer and more vivid than my life itself!
Afterwards when I buried them back to their old resting place
with only moments remaining before the sun is set,
I realized, Love is eternal and it shall never fade.

Leave a Reply

