Always Yesterday


Can’t recall how many years have passed since
you left me all alone to live my life
(I admit there was not much left of it)
or has it been mere days and weeks, instead!

Time has not been flying at her normal speed
since then but she has neither ceased to flow,
when my mind is blank she is lightning fast
and merciful but when my memory
drowns in the turbulent sea of your face,
she becomes unforgiving and too slow.

Neither can I recall the exact date
you left me all alone and went away
and yet the vivid way your distant face is drawn
in my rarefied dreams, it shall always be yesterday!

Leave a Reply

