A Love Song for the Sun


Have you seen how the branches of a tree
grow towards the sole inlet of the sun
when put into a room with only one
tiny window to let the sun inside?
Have you seen how a river, vitalized
by its tributaries, runs for the sea?

In the twilight have you seen how the birds
to their humble nests return, in happy flocks?
Have you seen how the soothing touch of rain
begets life on an arid stretch of rocks?

If I be that stretch of stone, how I wish, that you
shall be the rain or my humble nest, if I had wings!
If I be that river wild, to you let me run
and as a tree I wish, that you shall be my sun!

Leave a Reply

