The Sun and Shining Hope


I’m shivering but why I do not know…

Is it from the bitter chill in the wind
or out of weariness, inexplicable?

The warm sun is still near the Capricorn
and shining hope is even further south
from the humble shrine of my unyielding home.

Though I have seen much colder days before,
either the chill is rising vertical, of late
or my bones are weakened by the wrath of age
and I can no longer withstand the heavy toll of life.

Once I thought my insidious past might hold the key
but looking back I could only see the trail of my sins,
like a serpent of fire, crisscrossing the scorched and charred plain…

Never the sun nor shining hope shall see my home again!

Leave a Reply

