The Festive Noise


The time I see on the wall clock
belies the festive noise around
with mindless voices loud, yelling
to incoherent beats and even louder chords.
Music more akin to noise pollutants
being savored by thousands of crowd at least,
though tomorrow is not a public holiday!

In the beginning I thought, I would be enraged
but pity was all I felt in the end,
a bit for myself but mostly for the pupils,
sleepless as the most significant test
of their life is scheduled to start at dawn
with just a few handful hours left…
I wonder what good these extravagances might achieve!

Leave a Reply

