A Better Life


I left my home, seeking a better life,
leaving my precious love behind,
doubtful, if we would ever meet again
and trembling from the vicious pain,
as you would feel if being torn asunder…

Once that spasm subsided with the flow of time,
I strove with all my heart, in vain,
to set free my humble fate and rural mind
from the cruel curse of usury
but in the end only the masters’ manors changed…

Now I am a lowly man, living in the capital
with more money perhaps but all alone, helpless and lost,
with more comfort alright but no friends, family or home
and has this truly been a better life… I do not know!

Leave a Reply

