So Her Fidelity


The poem is conceived after reading a report on The Daily Mail

 

So her fidelity is a bit dubious and
possibly not too firm as well but I wonder,
why should her life exist in the realm of my thoughts!

Who is she but someone I know nothing about,
beyond a given name and a made up face with it,
chiseled smooth from too many years of cajoling!

Well, I can discern between love and libido
and I know, for sure, what I felt was neither one…

Still, what baffles me is why should I feel the pain,
as if the victim is none other than myself!

Perhaps the memories are projecting my past
of a barren bitterness on her present life…

Or perhaps it is my present, gone amorous
from four long years of too little sleep, at silent nights!

Leave a Reply

