The Simple Touch of Her Face


Has it been this long already?
I shivered at the speed of time…

How I miss the softness of grasses, green
beneath my naked feet and the sky,
overhead, blue and white, where the clouds play
hide and seek with the rising sun!

And I miss the fountains too, flowing down
from rain and ice onto the rocky ground,
to sire the clear streams that become
mighty rivers in a wide spate!

If I could float effortless with the flow,
might have found a sea and those rivers in embrace…

But more than all those haughty dreams combined,
I long for the simple touch of her face in my arms!

2 thoughts on “The Simple Touch of Her Face

Leave a Reply

