An Ancient Sigh


As I let the drizzle wash me clean,
a muted sigh from my soul escaped
into the humid air and gloomy sky
though it was heard across the sturdy walls
of Byzantium and the shores of Spain.

If these sighs had colors of any sort,
then both the sky and the world would have grown
tinged with a similar tone already
but sighs being always transparent,
such had not been the case till then!

Although later, I have heard that my sigh
was the one that cracked the Byzantine walls
and repelled the fierce Moorish invaders
from the tempting shores of Spain, when I was born again!

 

[SNT_FR_TZN_003]

2 thoughts on “An Ancient Sigh

Leave a Reply

