[Translation of a monologue in a Bangla drama, titled, “Janani” (Mother)]

I know, you must be wondering
what kind of a mother I am
but did I truly become a mother!

Those devils could only inject
a poison in my blood;
A poison, in the golden lands of Bangladesh!

A poison that would have contaminated
my Motherland!

That’s my reason for doing what I have done –
kill the poisoned seed, growing inside me!
The sacred Motherhood that I have within
will only breed and grow for Beauty, Truth and Love!

So I lay my pledge on your righteous minds,
don’t label it as an infanticide,
for that was my battle in the War…
However, it is for you to decide!

Leave a Reply

