O God, take my sense of smell far away,
so I may not smell her around the clock!
Take my sight too, make me blind from today
and save me from the pain of her being never close!

Of late, even when I dream, she is there
as vivid and charming as in real life
and I can smell her too though mild but clear,
as if it had never been a dream, after all!

Only when I cannot keep my eyes closed
any more to dream and must open them
to meet the cruel light of the broken world,
I see an emptiness devouring me, instead!

O God, how long must I live through these suppressions,
have I not, by now, made hell my final destination?

Leave a Reply

