Finally, when I have exhausted myself
with hovering like a swift hummingbird
from sweet flowers to flowers glowing bright,
driven by the urge to be one again
with the missing half of my existence,
a red sun appeared on the horizon.

As weary as I was, I could not tell
if the sun was rising or setting down
but my worn out limbs made the light around
dimmer, nevertheless; it could have been
Death herself disguised as a fireball,
burning crimson, the color of her lips!

Then all was dark for a while and when I woke up
it was in a desert beneath a glowing sun!

3 thoughts on “Shifting Paradigms

Leave a Reply

