Often there were nights, when I felt that I
might not survive long enough to behold
the golden sunrise of another day!
But on a handful of them, like tonight,
my weary heart and soul did not want to
witness dawn exposing my wounds and scars,
so I prayed, kneeling down, for life to end,
a prayer never heard or answered, so far!

The nights of apprehension deliver
a morning full of promises, at dawn
but on other nights when my fear of death
transformed into an affection for it,
the dawns leave a stale taste inside my mouth
and a sour smell spreads from my rotten soul!

Photo Credit: Neha Gangasani

3 thoughts on “On A Handful Of Nights

Leave a Reply

