I have the gloomy clouds of rain on my right palm
and glittering grains of sand on my left; which one
would you rather hold if I want to be your friend?
Either it’s the glitter or the gloom, you cannot
have them both in yours, I should remind you again,
for in between lies my trunk, as vast as the world!

While you are wondering, let me give you some hints –
what I have on my right can drown you in a flash,
while the left one will take some days or even weeks
to drain and vaporize the moisture out from you;
as gifts I have wells of oil if you go north and
a rainforest, wild if you prefer the south one.

So which is it, glitter or the gloom, please decide,
I’ll let your grandson judge, if you were wrong or right!

.

.


10 thoughts on “Glitter or the Gloom?

Leave a Reply

