Dedicated to Dajena Mason and Geetha Balvannanathan
for introducing me to the following poetic forms,
Etheree (A 10 line poem with syllable counts 1,2,3,…,9,10)
and Diamond (An Etheree followed by a reverse Etheree)

   

No,
I am
Not alone,
Despite the strife
And paralyzed dreams,
Traversing the darkness
 By my own, I still can see
The shimmer of a blinding light,
I know deep inside, there is one God,
Whose endless love sustains the universe!

The Venus, Saturn, Jupiter and Mars
Along with the rest of us are same,
Too lost without the Omniscient,
In too much chaos and discord,
Just like me, in darkness
Though calm from the light,
Shimmering true
Through the clouds
Of the
Night!

.


 

25 thoughts on “An Etheree Diamond

  1. Definitely the student is always better than the teacher 😀
    I loved the poem Amit. A real diamond which resonates with my feelings for Good too. Also thank you for putting me in your poem again (ahem.. Venus I mean hehehe kidding)

    Liked by 1 person

        1. yes it does, if not Venus then thoughts of it.. I mean Venus is the only orb on the sky, that is known by two names, the Morning and the Evening Star… btw, Mars is for Aries and Jupiter for Sagittarius! So is it the definition of spam these days? :p back in mine it used to refer to unwanted messages… 😀 rather let it be, for I have heard postal stamps with anomalies are auctioned at higher prices.

          Like

  2. Definitely the student is always better than the teacher 😀
    I loved the poem Amit. A real diamond which resonates with my feelings for Good too. Also thank you for puttin gme in your poem again (ahem.. Venus I mean hehehe kidding)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Va va voom! What a beautiful start to your experience with Etheree. Ravishing poem my friend and with the emotions perfectly flowing with the form. I am speechless (but being a woman still have some words in store, he he). Well done Amit and thanks for the accolade in passing 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

      1. One thing I do not do is praise where I do not find a cause for praise. I might say something encouraging like it’s nice or you’ve done well with the form or I just don’t say anything but like the poem. When I say it is beautiful and flows perfectly, I truly mean it. My eye and my ear/ inner ear are caught by the rhythm that flows in everything written or sung and this one sang to me 😀

        Liked by 2 people

          1. No apologies required. It takes a while to get to know each other on blogging world like in real life except that in real life it might take actually longer because you don’t go around spilling your guts in poems at first meetings 😀

            Liked by 2 people

            1. hahaha…. my point too… and I also believe that the subconscious of the poets has intriguing ways to leave its footprint in their poems… so definitely an orientation through poems will be more complete than an orientation in person.

              Liked by 1 person

                1. You are way too kind! I would never use the word ‘poet’ to describe such writers 😀 I believe that poets can only write about emotions, feelings and realizations they have experienced firsthand, be it reveling or suffering. If you have time to look at one of my essays, “Being A Poet”, it will most certainly further elaborate my standing in regards to poetry.

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. I think for what you might be having in mind I would use scribe. I am however talking about actual poets who write on prompt and are able to actually put in their emotions to serve the cause of their employer. Sometimes such people get tangled in the emotions they write about but sometimes they are able to stay out of it while actually fully engaging emotionally at the time of writing. It must be an odd situation to be in but I have known a couple of such poets.

                    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

