As I turned my weary gaze from within
to the loitering world of men outside,
I saw people, empty and indifferent,
moving back and forth like ants in a line!
   

Then there was the sun with chameleon light,
forever changing colors from a golden rust
at dawn to a blistering shade of white
midday to the cheeks of a blushing dame at dusk!  
    

I was nocturnal in my previous life,
hunting with the forest nymphs that had liquid hearts
but now the border between day and night
has faded as my soul is wounded by a poisoned dart!
    

O Lord, let me escape without my life and breath,
so I can wake up to an endless life in death!

.


 

22 thoughts on “Praying For A Requiem

  1. I love this stanza: “Then there was the sun with chameleon light,
    forever changing colors from a golden rust
    at dawn to a blistering shade of white
    midday to the cheeks of a blushing dame at dusk! “–it’s packed full of lovely images.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Brilliant!!! I concur with Krysia, the paradox in the closing line is beautifully done….”Endless life in death”.
    Although its not a paradox really. Moksha or nirvana (liberation from the endless cycle of rebirths) as defined in Vivekachudamuni, an ancient book on Moksha, explains thus:

    जाति नीति कुल गोत्र दूरगं
    नाम रूप गुण दोष वर्जितम् |
    देश काल विषया तिवर्ति यद्
    ब्रह्म तत्त्वमसि भाव यात्मनि ||२५४||

    Beyond caste, creed, family or lineage,
    That which is without name and form, beyond merit and demerit,
    That which is beyond space, time and sense-objects,
    You are that, God himself;
    Meditate this within yourself. ||Verse 254||

    — Vivekachudamani, 8th Century AD

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

