The following poem was conceived last night while watching the great movie
alluded to in the title. I dare pray that you may enjoy reading the poem as much
as I have enjoyed watching the movie! Thank you!

 

Sorry, who are you, come again!
Β Β 

Yes, of course I can remember
but what it is I cannot tell,
for honestly I do not know!
Β Β Β 

Sometime the whiff of a familiar smell,
sometime the pang of a dreaded sound,
sometime the fading outline of a face –
bringing back the thoughts of a distant life
and wild love growing oblivious somehow
but I’m sorry, who are you, come again!
Β Β Β 

Pardon me, if my words seem rude to you,
for that I do not mean to be
but I have this pitiful condition
and I am bad at remembering names
among some other things both great and small,
so who are you, you’d have to come again!
Β Β Β 

As you claim, if you truly know me well,
answer me, please elucidate
am I the one I think myself to be
or someone else, perhaps the one you see
or is there yet another face –
a third, mysterious one for each of us!
Β Β Β 

No, you have the right to say anything
and everything to your heart’s content,
for they are your memories, never mine
and I shall forget them soon, anyways!
So unleash your sting and say what you want,
for in the end as friends we shall depart!
Β Β Β 

Yes, I hope to meet with you very soon again
but pardon me, if then too I ask for your name!

.


 

58 thoughts on “Memento (2000)

  1. I’ve never seen the movie (not a fan of psychological thriller although if you twisted my arm I’d probably watch it with you, provided there’s an extra large bowl of popcorn with extra butter and a bottle of coke), but I enjoyed your poem πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

                    1. πŸ˜€ you know in any communication, the words carry hardly 10% of the meaning, about 30% is conveyed by the pitch and tone of the voice and the remaining 60% from facial expressions and body language. So I know you are thrilled but that is only 10% of it. with the rest unexpressed, such a poem would hardly be a complete one, no? πŸ˜€

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. πŸ˜€ sounds awful. You’re funny. No, I’m talking about a poet so talented they could tell a great story, anytime, anywhere, so great the words move people. πŸ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. I am both humbled and honored. here is a petty doodle for you, on the trot,

                      Though half of my tongue is silver,
                      the remaining half is cyanide
                      but do not be afraid, so long
                      as they honor my liberty,
                      it will be a fountain of mead
                      for them but come to dominate,
                      it will burn raw sulfur and lead
                      and one might even end up dead!

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. See? Off the cuff πŸ™‚ what a lovely write. Thank you.

                      you’ve power over your words
                      they can be as gentle as a feather,
                      comforting, protecting
                      or as sharp as a sword
                      slicing, hurting
                      mixed in with feelings, fears, and dreams
                      you’ll get a dangerous concoction

                      πŸ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

                    5. I’m slowly catching up πŸ™‚ I will get to that and let you know. I don’t have much background in literature though, so we’ll see what I can come up with πŸ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

                    6. I’ve learned to never say never… I would love to become a mother of an invention or initiative that would last for generations to come πŸ™‚ if not literature then maybe something else πŸ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

  2. You’re like a lifeline of mine, one of the first to notice my blog entries consistently for a long time now! Visiting your site is always a pleasure for your prose alone! πŸŽ‹πŸŽ‡πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‚πŸŽˆπŸŽπŸ’Ž

    Liked by 1 person

                    1. πŸ˜€ thank you but apology, gratitude and honor are the principles I live by, so it has become instinctive and I cannot help myself. but lets not indulge in it now unless you have a philosophy exam coming up.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. wow! wish I could pin up this comment on my homepage. it’s a huge honor. πŸ˜€ and for being funny, I think a little sadness makes one sulk and pine but a lot of it makes one funny, in a positive way!

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. yes… as Shelley had said, sadness begets sweeter poetry and about being serious I guess I am both serious and funny. what I seem depends on which side of the line the observer is standing… though I am more comfortable with being funny than being serious both in company and myself.

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

